The Circle Is Now Complete…

Star Wars fans are busting out all over these days, and I don’t really mean that in a positive way.  If you know me, you know I’m a huge fan.  But what you probably don’t know is that I sort of hate all the Star Wars crap that’s out there these days.  Seth Green recently premiered the latest Star Wars series, Detours.  Its…horrible. The Clone Wars series alone gets a thumbs up from me.  But its clear that the guys who are producing that are doing everything they can to undo some of the damage he-who-must-not-be-named has done to his own creation.

I hate the kitchy, sugary pop-culture parodies and endless mash-ups that Star Wars has become.

I like the movies.  Period.  No, I love the movies.  The original three, that is.  Some of my earliest memories are of seeing Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi with my family in the theater in Elizabethtown.  To this day, the smell of buttered popcorn takes me to one place: a tiny, ratty theater with stained and threadbare maroon carpet with tiny lights set into the walkways, and I’m looking up a very black poster of a star field that has the face of Darth Vader glaring down at me.

So now I finally have that exact poster, full theater-size, glaring down at me as I work at my computer.

I first bought the Return of the Jedi teaser poster about a year ago. Finally, today, the full-size theatrical poster for The Empire Strikes Back went up on my wall.

Leave a comment