Going back home for the first time in a while.

I had an odd whim today to drive up to my hometown and out to my old house.  This is the house my parents built in 1977, and I lived there (excepting college) until I was about 26.  It wasn’t a huge home, but it was a great place to grow up for a boy with a big imagination.

To a kid, this forest was endless, and I would wander back in the woods from sun-up on a saturday and spend dangerous amounts of time outside.  I say ‘dangerous’ because today, parents seem to think of the outdoors in general as dangerous.  If you’re a mom or a dad with a kid today, you would probably develop a heart murmur just listening to me describe the kinds of things my brothers and I managed to survive out there in the woods.

The house has three bedrooms and two small bathrooms.  I can’t even conceive of living there now…with four other people, no less.  In my condo, I feel claustrophobic if my neighbor is having a loud conversation out in her front yard (I like my space).

4 thoughts on “Going back home for the first time in a while.

    • Thanks, man. The house is currently owned by a bank, I assume. After my parents sold it back around 2004, it seems the young couple who bought it couldn’t make ends meet, were foreclosed on, and it’s been sitting empty since. Terrible damage during that time, it seems. The location is a problem. It’s miles from anything, and the only nearby town is dying/dead. Beautiful wilderness though. It was like visiting someplace you can vaguely remember dreaming of last week or something, and at the same time it was like coming home from work and seeing that your house grew old and rotted in an afternoon.

  1. Wow!! What a blast from the past!! Lots of memories in that first window to the left…also, some of the best chili I’ve ever had. It’s a shame not to live there anymore, eh? Guess it will always be home. Really great pics!

Leave a Reply

