Using Corel Painter: The Skinned Alien

I have technically used Corel Painter before, but I wouldn’t really say I had worked with it before yesterday.

I’ve always been impressed with what people like Ryan Church (one of my heroes) can do with Painter, but I’ve been a bit of a stick in the mud when it comes to digital illustration;  I’ve never really strayed from Photoshop apart from a few apps I have on my iPad.

But after watching a video on the features of the latest Painter, I was intrigued.  The demo was available on the Painter website, and it seemed like a good idea to get some professional help.  Gnomon Workshop has some amazing tutorial videos (not exactly cheap, but almost always worth every cent) and I found Ryan Church’s Intro to Painter.  So far so good.

I have a long road ahead, learning what the software can do and developing my own tools…but so far I’m loving it.  I will almost certainly buy the software when my 30 day trial is up.

 

Leave a Reply

